Who we are

The United Nations in the Caribbean region

The United Nations System in the English and Dutch speaking Caribbean consists of five (5) United Nations Country Teams (UNCTs) in Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Suriname and Trinidad and Tobago, as well as one (1) United Nations Sub-regional Team (UNST) for Barbados and the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). 

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, the British Virgin Islands, the Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, the Federation of St. Christopher (St. Kitts) and Nevis, St. Lucia, and St. Vincent and the Grenadines are covered by the Barbados and the OECS Office. The Trinidad and Tobago Office covers Aruba, Curacao and Sint Maarten, while the Jamaica Office covers the Bahamas, Bermuda, the Cayman Islands, as well as Turks and Caicos. 

The Resident Coordinator System

The Resident Coordinator System was conceived by the UN General Assembly to enhance the effective and efficient functioning of the United Nations System at the country level. The United Nations Resident Coordinators (UNRCs) lead the Resident Coordinator System at the country level and are the designated representatives of the Secretary-General for development operations.

The UNRC is the primary interlocutor for the UN Country Team with the Head of State and Government and is also the UNDP Resident Representative. As such, the UNRC remains accountable for UNDP business at the country level. In some cases, the RC can also hold the positions of Director of the United Nations Information Centre (UNIC), Deputy of the Special Representative of the Secretary-General, Designated Official (DO) for UN Security and/or Humanitarian Coordinator (HC).

The United Nations Resident Coordinators (UNRC) in the English and Dutch-speaking in the Caribbean:

RCS Updated

From left to right: 

  • Mr. Richard Blewitt – UNRC Trinidad and Tobago, Suriname, Aruba, Curacao and St. Maarten
  • Ms. Mikiko Tanaka - UNRC Guyana
  • Mr. Stephen O'Malley - UNRC Barbados and the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS)
  • Mr. Bruno Pouezat - UNRC Jamaica, Bahamas, Bermuda, Cayman Islands and Turks and Caicos
  • Mr. Christian Salazar - UNRC Belize and El Salvador

UN Funds, Programmes and Specialized Agencies

Eighteen (18) UN agencies/funds/programmes have operational regional and country offices in the Caribbean including: 

International Labour Organization (ILO)

Committed to connecting World (ITU)

Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO)

United Nations Aids Caribbean (UN AIDS)

United Nations Refugee Agency (UNHCR)

Pan American Health Organization (PAHO/WHO)

Universal Postal Union (UPU)

United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF)

United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)

United Nations Information Center for the Caribbean (UNIC)

Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC)

United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)

United Nations Women Caribbean (UN Women)

United Nations Environment Program (UNEP)

United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)

United Nations Population Fund (UNFPA)

United Nations Regional Centre for Peace, Disarmament and Development in Latin America and the Caribbean  (UNLIREC)

The World Bank